Confirmation celebrates the coming of the Holy Spirit. In the Acts of the Apostles chapter 2, verses 1 to 13, we read of the Apostles receiving the Holy Spirit. They had been hiding after Jesus’ death, afraid and uncertain. The coming of the Holy Spirit with his gifts inspired them and enabled them to take the step of preaching the good news.


We are made members of God’s family at Baptism. At Confirmation, our Baptism is completed or “sealed” by the Holy Spirit and we are called to be Christian witnesses, just like the apostles. The whole of our Christian living and the life of the Church, too, are sustained by the same Spirit.

Who Can Receive?

Any baptized Catholic wishing to advance on the path of developing their faith. For the young people, in our parish, this is a 3 year program that ends in the 11th grade with the Rite of Confirmation.


For adults who were not confirmed as children, it means taking part in the Rite of the Christian Initiation of Adults (R.C.I.A.)

Sacrament of the Sick
Holy Orders
Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (R.C.I.A)

Each year on Holy Saturday during the Easter Vigil, thousands of men and women are received into the Catholic Church in the United States. Parishes welcome these new members through the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) and at a liturgy bringing men and women into full communion with the Catholic Church.


The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) is a communal process of spiritual and educational formation for adults who seek to become full members of the Roman Catholic Church through a conversion of mind and heart. The process is open to all persons, regardless of religious background or philosophical persuasion, who genuinely seek, by God’s grace, to live their lives in the distinctive Catholic Christian faith.


Is the RCIA for me?

The RCIA is for three groups of people:

  • Those who are not baptized.

  • Those who were baptized into another Christian denomination and wish to enter into full communion with the Catholic Church.

  • Baptized Catholics who were never formed in the Catholic faith and have not completed their initiation; that is, who have received neither of the sacraments of Confirmation and Eucharist.


How does the RCIA work?

RCIA consists of four periods of formation which are marked by rituals that celebrate what has been completed and call a person into the next phase. There is no specific length of time for each period. The RCIA is a journey that "takes as long as it takes," according to each individual. Click here for the Stages and Rituals below in more detail.

  • The Inquiry or Precatechumenate

  • The Catechumenate

  • The Lenten period of Purification and Enlightenment

  • Mystagogy or a time of deeper understanding of the "mysteries"



Additional Links to Learn More about RCIA:

Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults - USCCB

A Strong Start in the Faith: The Catholic RCIA Stages